Do What You Must To Survive: B’Man’s 2012 Wicked Garden

I saw this WWII poster at Boing Boing and it really fits with what I have been working on and the fact that I haven’t bought any clothes for myself in years (you should see my worn out jeans).

Picture found at Boing Boing

The last thing I bought was a suit for a job interview four years ago. Other than a few shirts as Christmas presents, I have no new clothes. As a matter of fact, I did “inherit” some clothes when my Father-in-law passed away in July, but it was after the rest of the family scavenged thru and I received the left-overs. They got the clothes, best knives, and all the change he had saved for years (except for the pennies, which must have weighed too much for them to carry).

Today, I know that I must plant another garden, just to make sure we have food to eat next winter, for I suspect that food prices will skyrocket more than the 10-15% we have already seen this year. So, like every year, take a look at the preparation for BuelahMan’s Wicked Garden:

 

B'Man's Wicked Garden


Follow @BuelahMan

Did I rub you the wrong way or stroke you just right? Let me know below in the comments section or Email me at buelahman {AT} g m a i l {DOT} com

If for some reason you actually liked this post, click the “Like” button below. If you feel like someone else needs to see this (or you just want to ruin someone’s day), click the Share Button at the bottom of the post and heap this upon some undeserving soul. And as sad as this thought may be, it may be remotely possible that us rednecks here at The Revolt please you enough (or more than likely, you are just a glutton for punishment??), that you feel an overwhelming desire to subscribe via the Email subscription and/or RSS Feed buttons found on the upper right hand corner of this page (may the Lord have mercy on your soul).

All posts are opinions meant to foster comment, reporting, teaching & study under the “fair use doctrine” in Sec. 107 of U.S. Code Title 17. No statement of fact is made or should be implied. Ads appearing on this blog are solely the product of the advertiser and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of BuehlahMan’s Revolt or WordPress.com
11 thoughts on “Do What You Must To Survive: B’Man’s 2012 Wicked Garden

  1. Working and turkey hunting are really interfering with the garden prep. I do have my seedlings sprouted but have not broke up the ground. The weather is bad and the ground is wet. I do have a month before crunch time. However, the hot days are making me want to put out stuff before the date I have marked (April 18th). Since I didn’t get started till May 15th last year I feel ok about it. I got a ton of stuff to do around the house and just can’t get it in. The band will be taking a few weeks off after this Saturday night so I will have to jump on the trimming and plowing. If I can stay out of the turkey woods.

    • Yeah. I’m not fooled by the weather. I figure we might still get hit with some cold snap that would kill anything prematurely put in. I might do some cabbage and a few early plants, but this place will host mostly late spring/summer varieties.

      Looking forward to Sat night. You guys rock (and I mean that).

      • Wow thanks man. We sound so much better now that we have a
        FOH guy. And, as soon as we get some more gear, it can only get better. Can’t check email at the office this morning. Net is acting up here at the office. Maybe it will get better later???

  2. Bman, nice spread there. Got any worms composting? I made a quick composter by drilling holes in a plastic tub and it’s worked fine. Looking for a halved piece of pipe, maybe 10 X 4 X 4 to increase production.

    • Thanks, aj.

      My old compost heap is not in the view of the camera. However, I have moved to another home, so composting is moving to a new location (I am using what is left of the heap in this garden tho… you can see some of the stuff in the till). I also have quite a bit of length of gutters that I tie to the top of a fence where I grow herbs and small stuff. It takes watering almost daily, but it is a convenient way to grow that without taking up any land.

      This particular garden will host corn, beans and peas. (That spot is a few miles from where I live and not a easy to maintain daily) I figure to grow all we can eat in a year, if possible (I also can stuff). We still have peas, corn and tomatoes in jars from last year… but almost out.

      I plan to grow tomatoes, okra, squash and a few other things at a new spot close to home that I haven’t prepped yet.

      BTW: My family is joining a CSA (Community supported agriculture). A local family charges $30/week and provides about a 1/2 bushel of stuff (cabbage, greens, peas, etc) which is all organically grown. No way you could ever buy that much at a grocery store for that amount of money and it should be far safer and taste much better.

      Now you have interested in worm composting…

  3. I have a wide variety of lettuce and spinach up about 3 in. tall. A late frost won’t hurt it at all. The garlic planted last fall is huge.

    You might want to consider manure tea for a quick boost. Put a bucket or two of manure in trash cans or 55 gallon drums. Fill with water, stir occasionally. It’s ready in 3 or 4 weeks. Feed it right before a rain and you’ll see a difference.

    • Great advice on the tea. I have a friend that has several 55 gallon drums he wants me to come get (I was going to cut a couple in half and do tomatoes in each half). But I could get a couple more and make some fertilizer.

      • My ultimate tea recipe, although it costs, is manure, fish emulsion and liquid seaweed. I’ve found nothing better. Because of the cost I always reserved it for ‘special’ plants.’

        • Yup, Kenny’s got it! After using Neptunes Harvest fish/seaweed
          combo many, many years back…I started making my own recipe.
          Now its a combo of sawdust, some hay and manure I get from
          the stalls of our local rodeos 3-4 times a year, add the usual
          greens available along with leaves all my good neighbors love to
          pre-bag for me, blended fish parts and finally topped off with the
          best for last…fresh human urine.
          Turn piles every 2-4 days….month or 2 later max…black gold
          that has turned out 100 ft cherry tomato plants, 5 pound heirloom
          beefsteaks…and…well..you get the idea.

  4. Deer not a problem for you? We have them here and they are a gardener’s bane. They live right in the city as well as the surrounding countryside and … personally, I think they should be culled since all natural predators were killed off and they multiply.

    All that lovely venison could be put to very good use.

    One needs serious fencing. Or doggies. We have doggies but they are not always outside, especially at night. They defend the chickens and puppies from the marauding eagles and cougar, but not the garden from the deer….

    I imagine you might be wise to stock up on pickling and bottling supplies whilst they are still available and put in a nice big stock of new lids and sealing rings for the future when they are not available.

    When my Mom was resisting passing, the nurse told me that people of her generation who grew up on home grown foods, bottled preserves, etc etc, were made of stronger building blocks and their bodies just better quality material. So this could be a good thing.

    I am thinking, where I am, that one would have to grow indoors actually. We get so much of the Fukushima drop off on this side of the Rockies!

    Anyhow. looks like a good start. Just keep playing with those seeds until the days are ripe… another month maybe?

    • Howdy!

      I haven’t had any problems with deer at this garden. Rabbits are a different story, but even they haven’t done much.

      Funny you mention the canning supplies… I stocked up last year and have around 150 jars with lids and rings. A large quantity of canning salt and gel for jellies.

      My wife inherited a farm (mostly wooded) with deer and turkey everywhere. If worse comes to worst, I can hunt (even tho I haven’t in several years). I also live near a large river with plenty of fish (and I do love to fish). As a matter of fact, I will be going very soon and hope to fill the freezer.

      All my work last year paid off big time. I made a large pot of vegetable beef soup yesterday (mostly stuff I grew). If I could convince my wife to move to the farm, I think we could weather most disasters, man-made or not. But Fukushima fall-out is another issue that no one can truly deal with. Even indoor gardens need water.

      Most of my family and wife’s family lived to 90+. Her Dad passed away last year at 72.

      She has one grandmother still alive and she is near 93.

      They all grew up on farm food, so you are absolutely correct.

      BTW: did you have any problems commenting here today?

You Got Something To Say?

