B’Man’s Wicked Garden: Rockin’ The Prep Work

What does a man do when he sees life as we know it changing, causing fear and anger in America, doubting the very ones that lead us because they are obviously more committed to the Beltway games of feeding their coffers more than they care for us, the very ones who put them there?

Why, a redneck like me plants a garden just to ensure he can feed his family.

I will document it as it progresses.

I am also dragging out my fishing gear and hunting gear for next fall (I haven’t hunted or fished in 3 or 4 years because of work). I believe, with all my heart, that my family will desperately need it. So, what are you city slickers gonna do? If you drive by here and see something in the garden that you like, don’t get burned for trying to take it.

garden_0029

Area Lay Out

garden_0046

Plowed

garden_0048

Disc’d

And I ain’t burnin’ this one down, but I will rock your ass out (if you’ll let me):

“Wicked Garden”

Can you feel like a child?
Can you see what I want?
I wanna run through your wicked garden
Heard that’s the place to find ya
But I’m alive
So alive now
I know the darkness blinds you

Can you see without eyes?
Can you speak without lies?
I wanna drink from you naked fountain
I can drown your sorrows
I’m gonna burn, burn you to life now
Out of the chains that bind you

Can you see just like a child?
Can you see just what I want?
Can I bring you back to life?
Are you scared of life?

Burn, burn, burn
Burn your wicked garden down
Burn, burn, burn
Burn your wicked garden to the ground

Can you feel pain inside?
Can you love?
Can you cry?
I wanna run through your wicked garden
Heard that’s the place to find you
‘Cause I’m alive
So alive now
Out of the dark that blinds you

Can you see just like a child?
Can you see just what I want?
Can I bring you back to life?
Are you scared of life?

Burn, burn, burn
Burn your wicked garden down
Burn, burn, burn
Burn your wicked garden to the ground

6 thoughts on “B’Man’s Wicked Garden: Rockin’ The Prep Work

  1. I told you, buddy. This city-slicker went fishing all day for smallmouth bass at El Lago Arenosa with my son and a couple of friends. There’s a lakeside tavern that cooks them up for you when you bring the boat in. The rest of our catch I brought home and will eat tomorrow.

  2. Fish? You foreigners don’t even know what smallmouth bass are. It just so happens that I live at the Smallmouth Bass Capital of the World (and funny, my hometown is known as the “Catfish Capital“). If you truly like to fish for small mouth, I assure you there are few places with the abundance of larger ones (5 or 6 pounds). Many crappie here,as well, which is some good eatin’.

    PICKWICK LAKE
    “Pickwick Lake is world-renowned for its fine smallmouth bass fishing,” says Donny Lowery, fisheries scientist for the Tennessee Valley Authority. “Its notoriety as the ‘Smallmouth Bass Capital of the World’ is justly deserved. Fish in the 5- to 8-pound category are common in spring.”

    Lowery has spent 26 years researching and analyzing Pickwick. It’s also where he fishes for smallmouths when he is not working.

    “We sampled eight of the past nine years there,” he said, “and we have seen a steady upward stair-step trend in our catch rates. Using our electrofishing gear, the catch rate in 1999 was 27.5 bass per hour. Last year it increased to 53.6 bass (per hour). That’s almost a fish per minute!”

    Additionally, reports from tournament weigh-ins show a steady increase in average weight since 1999. Except for Guntersville, the B.A.I.T. report shows that anglers spent less time at Pickwick to catch a bass weighing greater than 5 pounds than anywhere else.

    In the northwest corner of the state, and downstream on the Tennessee River from Guntersville, Pickwick Lake flows northwest for most of its 49-mile length. About 25 percent of its lower waters belong to Mississippi and Tennessee. Fortunately, the best smallmouth fishing is in Alabama.

    The best times to fish are spring and fall, according to Lowery. The best fishing for trophy bronzebacks is the last week of February and the first two weeks of March.

    “The first 10 to 12 miles below Wilson Dam are prime smallmouth water,” says Lowery. “It’s a long tailwater that includes Seven-mile Island, which is partially submerged and provides an abundance of good habitat like gravel bars and stumprows.”

    As you might expect, successful smallmouth anglers know how to read and fish current.

    “When the dam is producing hydropower,” Lowery notes, “fishing is great for smallmouths – they love current. Like all black bass, the smallmouth is an ambush feeder. The flow stimulates feeding activity because it moves baitfish near rocky points and gravel dropoffs.

    “If the current is rolling, look for structure near deep water,” he continues. “Even when they feed in the shallows – they run in to get shad off the flats – dropoffs and ledges are always nearby.”

    The best lure for spring is a 4-inch smoke-colored grub rigged on a 3/16-ounce jighead. Small crankbaits and spinnerbaits are effective search baits. For clear water, use spinning gear to cast these lures on 6- or 8-pound-test line. Use 8- or 10-pound-test in stained water.

    In the fall season, look for tight balls of shad and then cast topwater lures or spinnerbaits over, through and under these schools. Use 12-pound-test line on bait-casting gear for this pattern.

  3. No place on Earth can compete with your hometown on smallmouth bass. I’m reading the features of the water, tide, geography and it CRUSHES Lago Arenosa. I’m just thrilled to have a nice place to go to get any. These waters are hardly tournament caliber.

    But we can approximate those catch rates EYEBALLING currents.

    I LOVE FISHING!

    • I hope you guys had a blast.

      Truly, Pickwick does have many smallmouth. It is a haven to some of the biggest fish tournies around.

      I sold my boat 2 years ago (needed the money: hell, I have sold so much shit in the last two years, it amazes me), but I will have another one some day. The area is so large that you need a decent boat to get around.

  4. Pingback: For The Engineer Wannabes Like Me « BuelahMan’s Redstate Revolt
  5. Pingback: For The Engineer Wannabes Like Me | joe nacchio

You Got Something To Say?

