Whisper A Prayer For The Dying

One of the truly great Rock and Roll voices and performers is a guy named David Coverdale. He started in the Big Time trading lead in Deep Purple. He later formed Whitesnake (where most rock and rollers know him from) after turning down the lead position for Black Sabbath. Great move, David.

I always felt his baritone voice (with an amazing range) is one of the best for Rock and Roll music (a personal preference), but what many people don’t realize is his song writing abilities.

As I was working in the wicked garden, this song came on and I couldn’t help but think about Iraqi children and innocents that have been killed and maimed by our illegal and immoral invasion and occupation. Listen and read the words.

If nothing else, this is my whispered prayer for them:

Whisper A Prayer For The Dying

I hear the sound of distant thunder, echo all around,
I see the tragedy of young ones lying on the ground,
I see the fathers sons and daughters, I hear the mothers crying,
Nothing left for me to do, but, whisper a prayer for the dying.

Oh, a prayer for the dying.

The suffocating heat of jungles, and burning desert sands,
Where everything reminds you, youre a stranger in a strange land.
The soothing words of politicians, those bodyguards of lies,
While guardian angels waste their time and every mother cries.

Oh, a prayer for the dying, dying, dying.

Machine gun, battle cry, you pray to God when the bullets fly,
The bombs fall like black rain, an all your dreams take you home again,
Nothing but bad dreams.

You cant read, you cant write,
Youre so scared, you cant sleep at night
You try to carry the heavy load,
Walking down armageddon road.

Oh, armageddon road.

I hear the sound of distant thunder, echo all around,
I see the tragedy of young ones lying on the ground,
I see the fathers sons and daughters, I hear the mothers crying,
Nothing left for me to do, but, whisper a prayer for the dying.

Oh, a prayer for the dying, dying.
Oh, a prayer for the dying, baby, baby.
Oh, a prayer for the dying, dying,
Whisper a prayer for the dying.

You cant run, you cant hide,
You cant show what you feel inside.
Youre going crazy, going insane,
You know youll never be the same again, no, no.

Whisper a prayer for the dying, dying, dying, dying, dying, no, no.
Armageddon road, armageddon road, Im walking down armageddon road.

B’Man’s Wicked Garden: Half-Way Planted

Tilled and Ready (tomatoes, green peppers and corn)

Tilled and Ready (tomatoes, green peppers and corn)

Tomatoes, cabbage and green peppers close up

Tomatoes, cabbage and green peppers close up

Lard Ass Digging a Row

Lard Ass Digging a Row

Lard Ass interupted to take pics

Lard Ass interrupted to take pics

A "wore-out" Lard Ass

A "wore-out" Lard Ass

A Wheelbarrow's view of Bean Rows

A Wheelbarrow's view of Bean Rows

OK:

So far I have planted one row of corn (another next weekend to stagger the crop and a third in about three weeks). 1 row of red onions, 2/3 of 1 in cabbage and the rest of that row in green peppers. Squash, Giant speckled Butter beans, Brown beans, black-eyed peas and potatoes.

I am leaving about 4 rows open for late planting, which leaves me with about 3 or 4 to plant some more this week.

Now to my ulterior motive. My “fighting weight” is about 200 to 205. When I began this garden my other motive was exercise and to lose weight. I began at 255 (yes, at least 50# over weight). I haven’t weighed again, but I can feel it coming off in how my clothes fit.

For those of you who have never planted a garden, it is hard assed work. But after planting it truly is just maintenance.

Also keep in mind that this lot was grass covered, so I had to till it 4 times and I have raked so much grass and roots that my arms hurt thinking about it.

But at 47, I intend to get back down to 200 (I would love to break the 200, for my ideal weight is closer to 185, or, at least, it WAS.)

Noteboek

Saw this at Neatorama and it is truly amazing. Winner of multiple awards.

Noteboek from Evelien Lohbeck on Vimeo (English title: Notebook) consists of 4 short experimental films where I try to confuse the reality. In these films, illusions and expectations are challenged.

Noteboek is a short film and part of my graduation project.

If you want to see more work please visit: evelienlohbeck.com

Music: The White Stripes-Seven Nation Army.

more about “Noteboek on Vimeo“, posted with vodpod