Preparations: A Country Boy Will Survive

I was out of pocket all day yesterday working on my latest project.

Outbuilding_0171

We started the project in the evenings last week. Worked almost every day and finally finished the addition yesterday (I even cleaned up after taking the pic). Paint is BuelahLady’s project (I’ll believe it when I see it). We added a 10′ X 12′ section to my work shop for storage. Since we moved here, we have been renting a large storage facility to keep the crap we couldn’t fit into this house (we moved from a 4,400 Sq Ft place to a 1,500 Sq Ft place). The storage was costing us $45/month and we have been here over 2 years. Do the math. Our bedroom isn’t big enough to hold our king sized bed, so it is in storage, just to get a sense.

The materials for the addition was $600 and a whole bunch of free labor by me and my Father-in-Law (he is 72). But now we can move whatever we need into our own storage, have the big yard sale, and then save the $45/month.

Also, as I mentioned to Kelso, my garden has been putting out. We are canning/freezing as much food as possible (and had a wonderful fresh food dinner with Giant Lima Beans, corn on the cob, squash casserole, tomatoes, cornbread and grilled chicken breast). 3 bottles of Sam Adams to top it all off and I was pooped… slept like a baby.

Today, I start moving (if I can work out the aches and pains in my body).

Now for a little Hank explaining how I will make it through, no matter what (and btw, there isn’t a single thing he sings about that I can’t do):

A Country Boy Can Survive

The preacher man says it’s the end of time
And the Mississippi River she’s a goin’ dry
The interest is up and the Stock Markets down
And you only get mugged
If you go downtown

I live back in the woods, you see
A woman and the kids, and the dogs and me
I got a shotgun rifle and a 4-wheel drive
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

I can plow a field all day long
I can catch catfish from dusk till dawn
We make our own whiskey and our own smoke too
Ain’t too many things these ole boys can’t do
We grow good ole tomatoes and homemade wine
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

Because you can’t stomp us out
And you cant make us run
Cause one-of- ‘em old boys raisin ole shotgun
And we say grace and we say Ma’am
And if you ain’t into that we don’t give a damn

We came from the West Virginia coalmines
And the Rocky Mountains and the and the western skies
And we can skin a buck; we can run a trot line
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

I had a good friend in New York City
He never called me by my name, just hillbilly
My grandpa taught me how to live off the land
And his taught him to be a businessman
He used to send me pictures of the Broadway nights
And I’d send him some homemade wine

But he was killed by a man with a switchblade knife
For 43 dollars my friend lost his life
Id love to spit some beechnut in that dudes eyes
And shoot him with my old 45
Cause a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

Cause you can’t stomp us out and you can’t make us run
Cause one-of- ‘em old boys raisin ole shotgun
And we say grace and we say Ma’am
And if you ain’t into that we don’t give a damn

We’re from North California and south Alabam
And little towns all around this land
And we can skin a buck; we can run a trot line
And a country boy can survive
Country folks can survive

3 thoughts on “Preparations: A Country Boy Will Survive

  1. Nice addition ! Hell in my past I called your addition a home. In the past never had the problem of storage, as I only had what I could load in the pick-up when it was time to go. Cant say that now. I’m in my permanent location and being single does have its advantages as far as space.LOl

    Country boy will survive….damn straight. The only thing I cant/wont do is chew. Tried it , don’t like it, but if I had too could. Being like yourself able to do all these things makes me feel sorry for a lot of folks out there in reality. They’re just going to be SOL if anything ever happens. But, like I said before, people like us will be in demand at that time. I will help others in a time of need, family and friends come first.

    Take it easy B’Man

  2. Pingback: Willie Nelson Gets High Before Performing? Say It Isn’t So. « BuelahMan’s Redstate Revolt

You Got Something To Say?

