Yes, Weed Kills Cancer, But How?

How Do Cannabinoids Kill Cancer? – Dennis Hill

I was recently inspired to write something I’ve been thinking about for a long time. I notice in the popular literature, and even in the research, we really don’t see how cannabis kills cancer. I wanted to be able to write a one page piece on How It Works that anyone could understand in order to have confidence with this process that has generated a wide range of opinions.
~Dennis
cannabinoides-cancer-sein-prostate-5-910x702There is a plentiful supply of research articles and personal testaments that show the efficacy of cannabis effecting cancer remission. However, only a few point to the mechanism by which the cancer cells die. To understand this better we need to know what metabolic processes provide life to the cells.

There are two structures in most cells that sustain life; one is the mitochondria, and the other is the endoplasmic reticulum. The mitochondria primarily produces adenosine triphosphate (ATP) that provides the necessary energy. The endoplasmic reticulum (ER) is a loosely bound envelope around the cell nucleus that synthesizes metabolites and proteins directed by the nuclear DNA that nourish and sustain the cell.

Let us look first at tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and observe that THC is a natural fit for the CB1 cannabinoid receptor on the cancer cell surface. When THC hits the receptor, the cell generates ceramide that disrupts the mitochondria, closing off energy for the cell.

Disruption of the mitochondria releases cytochrome c and reactive oxygen species into the cytosol, hastening cell death. It is notable that this process is specific to cancer cells. Healthy cells have no reaction to THC at the CB1 receptor. The increase in ceramide also disrupts calcium metabolism in the mitochondria, completing the demise to cell death.

The other cannabinoid we know is effective in killing cancer cells is cannabidiol (CBD). The primary job of CBD in the cancer cell is to disrupt the endoplasmic reticulum through wrecking of the calcium metabolism, pushing calcium into the cytosol. This always results in cell death. Another pathway for CBD to effect cancer cell death is the Caspase Cascade, which breaks down proteins and peptides in the cell. When this happens the cell cannot survive. Again, these processes are specific to cancer cells, no normal cells are affected.

Reference:

1. The Journal of Neuroscience, February 18, 2009 • 29(7):2053–2063 • 2053 

Cannabidiol Targets Mitochondria to Regulate Intracellular Calcium Levels.

 Duncan Ryan, Alison J. Drysdale, Carlos Lafourcade, Roger G. Pertwee, and Bettina Platt.

School of Medical Sciences, University of Aberdeen, Foresterhill, Aberdeen AB25 2ZD, United Kingdom.

2. Mol Cancer Ther July 2011 10; 1161

Cannabidiol Induces Programmed Cell Death in Breast Cancer Cells by Coordinating the Cross-talk between Apoptosis and Autophagy

Ashutosh Shrivastava, Paula M. Kuzontkoski, Jerome E. Groopman, and Anil Prasad.

Division of Experimental Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts.

h/t Patients For Medical Cannabis

Follow @BuelahMan

BuelaHuh?

Did I rub you the wrong way or stroke you just right? Let me know below in the comments section or Email me at buelahman {AT} g m a i l {DOT} com

Please keep comments relevant to the topic. Multiple links will automatically relegate your comment to the spam section, so keep that in mind as you post.

If for some reason you actually liked this post, click the “Like” button below. If you feel like someone else needs to see this (or you just want to ruin someone’s day), click the Share Button at the bottom of the post and heap this upon some undeserving soul. And as sad as this thought may be, it may be remotely possible that us rednecks here at The Revolt please you enough (or more than likely, you are just a glutton for punishment??), that you feel an overwhelming desire to subscribe via the Email subscription and/or RSS Feed buttons found on the upper right hand corner of this page (may the Lord have mercy on your soul).

All posts are opinions meant to foster comment, reporting, teaching & study under the “fair use doctrine” in Sec. 107 of U.S. Code Title 17. No statement of fact is made or should be implied. Ads appearing on this blog are solely the product of the advertiser and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of BuehlahMan’s Revolt or WordPress.com

14 thoughts on “Yes, Weed Kills Cancer, But How?

  1. I’m relieved and happy to know the High Priestess of your hebru kike kanev bosem “religion”, nigger sheenie jew Whoopi Goldberg , will never get cancer. The cancer rate in Jamaica must be nil. Jamaica must be a real paradise of Bright Shining Health and Well-Being, what with all of your fellow co-religionists, the nigger rastafarians worshipping your kanev bosem day-in and day-out. A Paradise of Robust Health and Glorious Golden Good Living.

    Like

      • You know I will make the most of it. I always do. You know me well. And I know you well.

        “May your days be happy and bright, with always a mind that’s keen, with a countenance emanating a healthy sheen, and may all your Christmases be hebru kanev bosem green!”

        I’m happy to see you changed the heading of your website. The hillbillies-with-missing-teeth heading was just downright awful. I’m glad you finally realized how awful it truly was. So there’s hope for you yet.

        Differences of opinions are not a bad thing necessarily. Debate is a good thing. We all learn from debate. I usually learn more from those who disagree with me than from those who agree with me, if only because I’m compelled to go find even more factual info to refute the assertions of my philosophical opponents.

        Personally, I don’t find being in spam “hell”. When in spam, I spend my time searching for even more knowledge and even more facts to refute my opponents. Being in Spamblinka gives me more time to learn more. It’s actually very peaceful being in spam. At least I don’t have to waste any time protecting myself and standing behind my always fact-based assertions in flame wars with trolls. Though yes, I prefer not to be spammed of course.

        May you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. May this upcoming New Year be the year you and your fellow kanev bosemites come up with your very own kanev bosem religious icons instead of “borrowing” religious icons from other faiths, namely the Catholic Faith, “borrowing” Catholic religious icons to use for “religious” icons to represent your kanev bosem “faith”. Catholicism : The Faith that gave us Christmas to begin with.

        I don’t hold grudges, but I do have a very good memory. As your kanev bosem is so inspiring, so very inspiring and uplifting, you and your 420 buddy-buddies shouldn’t have any problems designing your very own kanev bosem religious icons for your, Oh, very transcendental faith. A faith that “knocks on heaven’s door” as per Bob Dylan and so many other saints of your religion ; Transcendental, with so many, Oh so many, Sacraments. So many Sacraments to knock on heaven’s door with — even enter Heaven thru up-the-ass, Ooops, I mean enter Heaven thru the “back door” as per Bob Dylan and so many other saints of your religion preach unto us. How the Founding Father of your kanev bosem religion, Aleister Crowley, LUVED getting it, reaching Heaven, getting it up-the-ass. How your co-religionists, the nigger rastafarians, LUV sodomy [ and criminality and attacking Whites].

        Being in spam only serves to strengthen my memory, so gee, “thanks” for the spam.

        Speaking of spam, you may consider stocking up with Spam in case the SHTF big-time in the USA this upcoming happy new year and the supermarket shelves are rendered empty and forlorn by your co-religionists, the niggers.

        420 comes to us from West Africa originally. The niggers in West Africa also worshipped 420 as a “religion” as you do. And all the scientific talk in the world can’t cover up the fact you’re really pushing 420 as a religion. By the way, the big-shot jews , and many low-level jews, jews you say you don’t like, would just LUV it if it as many Americans as possible would walk around stoned-out all the time. It would make their jew usurpation of the USA even more easy than it is now. 420 — and all the other attendant “sacraments” of the 420 “religion” — serving as Orwell’s “SOMA”. That’s what I think — deal with it. Did U ever read Orwell? What say U about Orwell, especially Orwell + “SOMA”. What say U about Jerry GarCIA, the mulagnan jew drug-pusher?

        Like

        • Vaporizing some Christmas bud would help you lighten up some. I’m sure that others around you would thank you for that Christmas miracle.

          Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, as well.

          Like

          • Not having cancer, I wouldn’t want to vaporize any precious bud that could go to a cancer victim : It would be a total waste of a precious cure for those suffering from cancer who really need it. I shall have a shot of Jack Daniels instead for the Holidays, with a White Wine chaser, and I shan’t bother you until sometime in 2015.

            Perhaps, or maybe not, my friends shall experience a Christmas miracle ; And perhaps, or maybe not, maybe you and your friends will experience a Christmas miracle as well, and finally figure out how to visualize/design/come-up-with/actualize/manifest your very own sacred 420 religious icon : I await with bated breathe to see what you and your buddy buddies come up with, if indeed you experience any sort of miracle, a Christmas miracle or any sort of miracle period.

            Like

          • Ok, I don’t know where to start.
            I was told I have prostate cancer. Gleeson score 8. Recommended that prostate be removed immediately!
            That was more than 3 years ago. I had heard about Rick Simpson and decided to treat myself. I followed Rick’s advice, grew, converted to oil and hit myself with the recommended dosage. I also took to vaping.
            Bottom line is I go into hospital early next year to have my prostate removed. My PSA is now 18, having started at 8!
            I’d like to believe everything I read about this cure – but I no longer am convinced.
            I wish all well (and a merry christmas and happy new year).

            Like

  2. ‘Salvatore’ a name that means ‘savior’ in Italian, here’s wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Try looking at the bright side for once or is your soul already so blackened that it can only see the darkness it has consigned itself too?

    Like

    • The stalker is pushing the envelope (again) with me. Some people are so full of themselves that their desire to cause turmoil and strife overcomes any sensibilities or ideas of decorum in another person’s “house” as it were.

      I generally appreciate any view or comment here, but there are a few people that show themselves unapproved of honest dialogue. The priest, here, is one of them.

      And, like my house, if a person were to use even a small bit of disrespect that Salvatore and the idiot Phil Lings (Raymond, Ray, whitedove… all from the same IP) used towards me, I assure you that they would be hastened out and likely with a foot up their ass.

      Here, I just ban their sorry asses.

      Like

    • I will listen to The Who, “I Can See For Miles and Miles” , this Christmas season to prove my good-will bona-fides — to open up my heart to light, lol.

      Living in Northern California, I’m surrounded on all sides by pot-heads. ALL the pot-heads I know are extremely liberal — most of them are liberal unto outright leftists. There’s something about 420 that turns the pot-heads into flaming liberal leftists. AND as we all know, leftism is Communism, and as we all know, Communism is jooish.

      I honestly don’t think 420 can help White America — there are a lot of negative aspects to the 420 culture. I think it should be debated, that’s all.

      Some say Catholicism and protestant Christianity also, is not intrinsic to the White Race, that it is a foreign religion grafted unto White, European culture and civilization. It’s debatable. It’s also debatable as to whether 420 — especially 420 as a “religion” — is intrinsic to the White race. I say it’s not. I say it’s a foreign “religion” grafted unto White European culture and civilization. I want to debate, that’s all. That’s all I’m saying.

      I’m not talking about Zionist “Christianity”. It’s very clear Zionist “Christianity” is foreign, grafted unto Christianity sometime in the 19th century. See Scofield + Rothschilds. See CMan.

      If my White race is as smart as so many WN’ers say, Whites would return back to their original Church, the Catholic Church, make it whole again, then immediately launch Holy Catholic Crusade against BOTH jew and mohammedan. That’s what I’m saying. Sounds like a lot more fun than sitting around getting stoned all the time. “Fun” here means efficacious as well as being, well, Fun.

      The White race is so protestant { including the overwhelming number of Catholics or so-called Catholics } , it protested itself out of its’ very own culture, heritage, civilization. I don’t see how the 420 “religion”, yet another type of protestant cult, can save us Whites. It can’t.

      Perhaps 420 can help some people suffering from various health problems, I grant you that, but as a “religion”, 420 can not save the White Race. There’s NO spiritual power in 420 as “religion” to defeat the NWO. If anything, the NWO wants us all to become pot-heads. A stoned population is what the NWO wants, hence fluoride in the water, hence 420 and its’ attendant drug culture has been promoted since the 60s at least. Promoted in both the mainstream media and promoted in the alternative media, or so-called “alternative” media. It’s very involved — the whole 420 issue — and really should be debated. Debate about it should be allowed. Surely, you all don’t think it’s somehow blasphemous to question and to debate 420 as “religion”? I hope not.

      Considering so many are promoting 420 as a religion, it should be dissected and looked-into as much as so many dissect and analysis Christianity. What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

      And NO, my heart is not so “blackened” that I think pot smokers should be thrown in jail. I just don’t think 420 should be turned into a religion, that’s all.

      Like

      • This is perhaps the most thought provoking comment you ever made here and it gives me hope that you are more than just another asshole pushing some pet peeve or agenda.

        And believe me when I say I am willing and able to take on honest, REAL dialogue.

        However, the insistence from you that I have some 420 “religion” pushes my buttons (and you know that). I wonder, though, if your continual usage of those words is meant to inflame me, and what would be your reasoning for that? Or are you just callous with no real intention of dialogue (just another troll)?

        You see, your past antics here paint you as contrary to the somewhat amicable post above, so I am wary (and have a hair trigger with Richard Noggins).

        Your stance on cannabis and religion couldn’t have been a more dead-beaten horse here. You made it plain in your first comment and virtually every other one since then.

        Now, you either respect my view about the medical efficacy and the lies of many decades being purposeful to keep us from healing ourselves and drop the 420 religion shit or move along, Man. You don’t have to agree with me, but you do need to stop painting my view in the false way you do. It has grown old.

        Like

  3. Pingback: diggerfortruth

You Got Something To Say? Please keep your maw respectful and gab on topic.

