Largest Known U.S. Vietnam War Atrocity

Largest Known U.S. Vietnam War Atrocity

But Ignored by U.S. News Media

by DC Dave

Reporting on a recent speech by Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung in which the Vietnamese leader said that Americans committed “countless barbarous crimes” in the Vietnam War, The Washington Post’s Adam Taylor made this further observation:

nickturse

And while My Lai is acknowledged, some say that the massacre was only notable because of its scale, and that smaller-scale killings of civilians by U.S. troops were alarmingly commonplace. In his book “Kill Anything That Moves,” journalist Nick Turse argues that American authorities were aware of similar killings and often allowed them.

“The indiscriminate killing of South Vietnamese noncombatants — the endless slaughter that wiped out civilians day after day, month after month, year after year throughout the Vietnam War — was neither accidental nor unforeseeable,” Turse wrote.

Taylor finds Prime Minister Nguyen’s statement remarkable considering the current relatively stable and friendly relationship between the United States and Vietnam, though understandable in light of the true history of the war that Americans still know very little about.

What I find remarkable is that such a strong article as the one that Taylor has written should appear in the usually warmongering Washington Post. It is the failure of The Post and the mainstream media in general to tell us the full truth about the Vietnam War—in spite of the recently cultivated belief that it actually went too far in doing so—that Prime Minister Nguyen’s charges should sound so shocking.

998188Although this is the first I have heard of Turse’s book, and have not read it, from the reviews I gather that it tells the story that we at the North Carolina Veterans for Peace attempted to get out when I was a graduate student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. When Lt. William Calley was charged in the My Lai massacre, we put on a program on campus in which a number of members of our group described similar atrocities to My Lai that they had either participated in or witnessed. When the Vietnam Veterans against the War (VVAW) held its Winter Soldier Investigation in Detroit in early 1971 with many more eyewitness atrocity stories, they sent out films of the testimony of soldiers to sympathetic organizations around the country. We set up an outdoor screen on the “brick pit” next to the undergraduate library and showed the testimony night after night in the summer of 1971. The students generally ignored us—the government had taken the wind out of the sails of the antiwar movement on campus with the draft lottery in December of 1969—and VVAW was cold-shouldered by the news media. This is from Wikipedia:

Mainstream media all but ignored the Winter Soldier Investigation. The East Coast papers refused to cover the hearings, other than a New York Times story a week later. The local field reporter for the Times, Jerry M. Flint, commented with uninterest, “this stuff happens in all wars.” In a February 7, 1971 article he wrote that “much of what they said had been reported or televised before, even from Vietnam. What was different here was the number of veterans present.” Several of the VVAW representatives speculated that there was an “official censorship blackout,” and they would express this theory later in their newsletter.

A few articles that were sympathetic to the veterans appeared in lesser-known publications, and Pacifica Radio, known for its left-wing perspective, gave the event considerable coverage. The CBS television crew that showed up were impressed, but only three minutes made it to the nightly news on the first night—three minutes that were “mostly irrelevant to the subject”, according to VVAW.

Because of the general blackout, there’s a pretty good chance that many people even so far off the establishment reservation as to be reading my material are learning about the Winter Soldier Investigation for the first time right now. The fact of the matter is that U.S. military tactics in Vietnam, in their wanton destructiveness and ineffectiveness, were very much like a person attempting to swat flies in a house using a sledgehammer.

Upon closer examination we see that Adam Taylor’s revealing article is not so anomalous as it first appears. It would, indeed, have been amazing to read such revelations in the pages of The Washington Post, but it never appeared among its pages. In what has become an ever more frequently used tactic of buying credibility without spreading useful information widely, The Post only put the Taylor article on its website, and, in all likelihood, they buried it away there.

Biggest Atrocities from the Air

VIETNAM AIR BOMBINGS

There is also a shortcoming in the quote from the article that we have used, and it is one that is shared by our veterans group at UNC and by what I have seen of the Winter Soldier Investigation. Citing Nick Turse’s book, Taylor says that My Lai differs from countless other atrocities in Vietnam in that it was on a larger scale. Another big difference between My Lai and other atrocities is that it was perpetrated on the ground and not from the air. The testimony at Chapel Hill and at Detroit came largely from conscience-stricken soldiers—mainly enlisted men—who saw their victims, often face to face. The confession that Hugh Turley overheard at the S & J Tavern in Riverdale Park, MD, of a man who had killed women and children upon the orders of his superiors is fairly typical. Those who slaughtered wholesale from the air—the American way of killing—were career military officers and in most cases they never saw their victims. For the most part, those perpetrators have not broken ranks and they have not been overly weighted down by conscience.

There is one big exception. It was reported originally, to my knowledge, in an obscure book from my home county.

Mary Lewis Deans is a Nash County, NC, writer who married a neighbor of mine in the county when they were both in high school. He later went on to become a career Air Force officer. I recall reading her columns in the weekly Nashville Graphic, dateline Bangkok, in the 1970s when he was the U.S. Air Force attaché in Thailand. In 1996, she edited and published a little book entitled Salute to Veterans: Oral Histories from Veterans and their Relatives, gathered by the Nash County Cultural Center’s oral history project. The one that caught my eye was from the Vietnam experience of then-Lt. Colonel James Hildreth—retired in his wife’s hometown of Spring Hope—in which he described the obliteration of an unthreatening Vietnamese village of more than a thousand residents:

An Unacceptable Target

Told by James Robert “Cotton” Hildreth

I was sixteen when I went into the Merchant Marines. I served sixteen months as a Ship’s Radio Officer. When I became eighteen, I joined the Army and served a hitch as an enlisted man, then got out of service. I was called back into service when the Korean War started. I went into the Air Force in 1952 and became a fighter pilot, and it was my career for the next thirty years.

For the next ten years, I served as a flight commander in several fighter squadrons, flying the F-84, F-86, F-100 and F-105. This was the most exciting, rewarding, and enjoyable ten years of my life. During the hottest period of the Cold War we developed and exercised world-wide deployment for our fighter aircraft, using aerial refueling, and responded to numerous military threats with a show of force in such places as the Taiwan Straits and Lebanon in the Middle East.

I was assigned to Fighter Requirements in the Pentagon when the military buildup in Vietnam began, and I volunteered to go. I think we all wanted to go. It was what we had trained to do since we took the oath. When my request was approved, I called my friend, Dudley Foster, in Rated Officer Assignments in Personnel and told him I had been released from my Pentagon tour and wanted an F-105 assignment to Southeast Asia. He told me that since I had not flown F-105 in three years I would have to retrain in the F-105 and that I would have to wait five or six months for a school slot. This was in 1966, and I didn’t think the war would last that long.

I asked, “Well, what aircraft do you have that I can go over in now?” And added, “I don’t care what it is. I’m ready to go.”

A-1J_Skyraider_VA-176_Vietnam_1966

An A-1J of VA-176 loaded with ordnance for a mission in Vietnam in 1966.

He said, “I just had a cancellation in an A-1 assignment.”

I didn’t know what an A-1 was. He told me it was a conventional Navy attack aircraft that the Marines used in the Korean War for close-air support. The Marines were converting their attack units to A-4s and giving the A-1s to the Air Force to use for Air Commando missions, principally close-air support, search and rescue, and covert mission he couldn’t talk about. It was really not what I had in mind, but I wanted to go so badly I took the assignment.

I arrived at Pleiku in the Central Highlands of South Vietnam as Commander of the First Air Commando Squadron in March, 1967, and ended my tour a year later during the Tet Offensive.

How do I feel about the war in Vietnam?

I have mixed feelings, mostly bad. From the onset of the buildup in Vietnam, it was clear that there was no military solution to the conflict. We should never have become so extensively involved. The volume of ordnance we expended over an area about the size of California was more than the total ordnance expended in all the previous armed conflicts in the history of our country, and it had no appreciable effect on the outcome in Southeast Asia. The total of all the targets destroyed was not worth the life of one of my pilots, and I lost eight of them in ten months and twelve of my twenty-two assigned aircraft.

It was difficult to show the bean-counters and political warriors in Washington positive military results for all our casualties and materiel losses. So the American military leadership in South Vietnam determined that bodies destroyed was a good gauge. BODY-COUNT became the measure of a ground commander’s success. It should not then have been surprising that this policy led to the civilian massacre at the village of My Lai.

A-1E Skyraider aircraft of the 34th Tactical Group, based at Bien Hoa, South Vietnam, fly in formation over South Vietnam on way to target on June 25, 1965.  (U.S. Air Force photo)

A-1E Skyraider aircraft of the 34th Tactical Group, based at Bien Hoa, South Vietnam, fly in formation over South Vietnam on way to target on June 25, 1965. (U.S. Air Force photo)

The vast majority of the A-1 missions were in Laos: flying armed reconnaissance of North Vietnamese infiltration routes into South Vietnam, search and rescue missions for downed air crews, and covert support for special ground forces operations.

Our aircraft was very slow and heavily armed. I mention this because all of my previous experience had been in high-performance jet fighters where the pilot never really sees the people who die in the target he destroys. In the A-1 you actually see the people shooting at you, and, at the time, feel the satisfaction of knowing you’ve killed someone who was trying to kill you.

One particular mission is as vivid in my memory now as the day it happened. I was leading a flight of two A-1s on an armed reconnaissance mission, but shortly after take-off we were diverted to a target on the coast of I Corps (northern quarter of South Vietnam.) On arriving in the target area, we contacted the FAC (forward air controller) who pointed out the target. It was a huge village of three or four hundred houses, probably twelve to fifteen hundred people. It was between the main north-south highway and the ocean, a pretty, clean village. I asked the FAC why the village was a target.

The FAC said, “That is a Vietcong village.”

I said, “How do you know its a Vietcong village?”

He said, “Well we saw three Vietcong run in there.”

Across the road from the village was a rice paddy.

He said, “We saw them run out of the rice paddy when we flew over, and they ran into the village.”

I said, “And you want us to wipe out this whole village to get three Vietcong?” How do you know they were Vietcong? Were they armed?”

He said, “They had on black pajamas.”

All of the farmers working in the fields had on black pajamas. That was their dress. And they carried tools like rakes and hoes.

He said, “They were armed.”

I said, “How do you know they weren’t carrying rakes and hoes?”

He said, “Don’t argue with me. I’ve got the provincial governor in the back seat, and he says that is a Vietcong village.”

I said, “Well, I’ll go down and look around and see if I can draw any fire.”

So we went down and flew over real low and slow. There were children in the courtyard, smiling and waving at us. This village had obviously been there for years, and it had never been touched. I pulled back up; and I said, “Okay, what are your instructions?”

He said, “The wind is blowing off-shore; so put your napalm down on that first row of houses, and the wind will carry the fire across the entire village.”

So I said, “”Fine.”

USAF Douglas A-1 Skyraider drops napalm and white phosphorous during the Vietnam War

USAF Douglas A-1 Skyraider drops napalm and white phosphorous during the Vietnam War

I pulled around and told my wingman to come in from one side and I would attack from the other. We would start our attack from opposite corners. I was coming in toward the corner hut. I looked up at the other end, and he had moved over the road and dropped his napalm on the road. As I approached my release point, a woman with a tiny baby strapped on her back, holding the hand of a small child three or four years old, came running from the hut. I pulled my aircraft over and dropped the napalm in a ditch beside the highway.

The FAC screamed and raised holy hell because he had this governor in the aircraft with him. He said, “You know I’m going to report you for this!”

I said, “You don’t have to. I’ll be on the ground before you are, and I’ll report myself.”

When we landed, my wingman walked over to my aircraft and said, “Sir, I have three small grandchildren, and I could never have faced them again if I had followed those orders.” He said he didn’t want to fly any more combat missions. Later, I had him transferred to a unit with an airborne command and control mission.

I went into Squadron Operations and called the Command Center at Seventh air Force and talked to the director, a brigadier general I had served with several years before. I told him what happened.

He said, “Damn, Cotton, don’t you know what’s going on? That village didn’t pay their taxes. That lieutenant colonel, a provincial commander, is teaching them a lesson.”

On returning from an interdiction mission several days later, we flew over the target area. The village had been totally destroyed. Nothing but a large, black, burned area remained. I’m sure when the FAC got a fast-mover (high-performance jet) on the target and destroyed the village the report read: Target 100 percent destroyed, body-count 1200 KBA (killed by air) confirmed.

I’m a grandfather now, and I can’t watch my grandchildren at play or carry them in my arms without thinking of that village in Vietnam.

grandchildren

I put the story on my web site originally on June 10, 1998. To date, no one in what could be called the mainstream U.S. news media

'Yes, [because] you don’t see the people.’

‘Yes, [because] you don’t see the people.’

has touched it. In July 2010, with my assistance in finding Hildreth’s phone number, my friend Turley was able to conduct an interview. He entitled his article, “The Wingman and the Village.” In his article Turley revealed that Hildreth had retired as a Major General.

It’s not in his article, but Turley tells me that he asked Hildreth who gave the order to destroy the village. Hildreth declined to name the man, saying, “I still have friends in the Pentagon.” Turley’s article’s big contribution to the story came with Hildreth’s response to another question: “When asked if he would have destroyed the village had he been flying an F-105 supersonic fighter-bomber, Hildreth replied coolly, Yes, [because] you don’t see the people.’ ”

And that’s why America’s biggest atrocities have been, and continue to be, perpetrated from the air, and it’s also why we’ll probably never even hear about most of them, and no one will ever be punished for them.

Drone-attack

David Martin

May 4, 2015

Follow @BuelahMan

BuelaHuh?

Did I rub you the wrong way or stroke you just right? Let me know below in the comments section or Email me at buelahman {AT} g m a i l {DOT} com

Please keep comments relevant to the topic. Multiple links will automatically relegate your comment to the spam section, so keep that in mind as you post.

If for some reason you actually liked this post, click the “Like” button below. If you feel like someone else needs to see this (or you just want to ruin someone’s day), click the Share Button at the bottom of the post and heap this upon some undeserving soul. And as sad as this thought may be, it may be remotely possible that us rednecks here at The Revolt please you enough (or more than likely, you are just a glutton for punishment??), that you feel an overwhelming desire to subscribe via the Email subscription and/or RSS Feed buttons found on the upper right hand corner of this page (may the Lord have mercy on your soul).

All posts are opinions meant to foster comment, reporting, teaching & study under the “fair use doctrine” in Sec. 107 of U.S. Code Title 17. No statement of fact is made or should be implied. Ads appearing on this blog are solely the product of the advertiser and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of BuehlahMan’s Revolt or WordPress.com

32 thoughts on “Largest Known U.S. Vietnam War Atrocity

  1. There is some interesting history available to readers today. Lawrance Rockefeller, who served in the Navy during WW2, was placed as Gen. MacCarthur’s second when MacCarthur became military governor of Japan. A huge amount of weapons and ordinance that had been stockpiled on Okinawa in the event an invasion of Japan became necessary was directed by Rockefeller to be given to one Ho Chi Minh for $1 and ‘good will’. This was because a little known survey done by geologist Herbert Hoover (later President) indicated the likely possibility of vast amounts of oil in the South China sea off of coastal Vietnam. After the French were ejected, the Vietnamese had second thoughts about ‘good will’. During the Vietnam conflict, US aircraft were directed to dump unexploded ordinance into the sea as a safety measure before aircraft carrier landings but the echoes from the seabed helped geologists locate prime locations of oil deposits. Coincidentally, the oil surveying was completed on the very day US forces left Vietnam. Today, Caltex and other Rockefeller companies are pumping oil from the very best concessions; British, French, and others (except Russia) don’t seem to have very productive spots. Questions need to be asked, such as why isn’t the Rockefeller Foundation helping the people of Laos (and Vietnam) with the thousands of unexploded bombs that still kill civilians today? What about all the ordinance left unguarded (a professional military impossibility) in Iraq that helped create ISIS ? Why did the US and Saudi Arabia give the major amount (practically all) of military aid to the least effective Mujahideen in the Afghan conflict, eventually betraying Commander Ahmad Shah ‘Massoud’? Why did CFR member Nicholas Rockefeller tell Hollywood producer Aaron Russo months before 9/11 that a big event was going ‘to happen’ that would finally get a pipeline placed in Afghanistan, the route guarded coincidentally by the only remaining US military bases in that country?

    Like

    • All wars are bankers’ wars—and “bankers” includes defense contractors and the entire military-congressional-security-industrial complex. The USA has been the main enforcer & aggressor since the misnamed Civil War. It’s painful to admit that, since we were all raised & brainwashed to believe that America is the global force for good (despite its shortcomings). 9/11 was, like so many other watershed events, a “false flag”: an event planned to “justify” a war to be blamed on someone or some country which was not the root cause of the event. The Mossad, with help from the CIA & maybe other U.S. gov’t elements & maybe even the Saudi gov’t, planned & carried out 9/11.

      Like

  2. Anyone who spent any time on the ground in Vietnam who came back cheering that unlawful, undeclared, genocidal slaughter has no soul. That Hildreth has “mixed feelings”, that he would have bombed the village because “you don’t see the people” and that he was career military retiring as a Major General only supports the fact he was complicit in the war crimes on that country.

    I was sent to Vietnam and am proud to say I know with absolute certainty I killed nobody during the 20 months assigned there. The U.S is a war mongering nation. Always has been, always will be. Nobodies freedom with the U.S were threatened by Vietnamese, Laotians, Cambodians, et. al. Nor have any U.S. freedoms been threatened by Iraqis, Afghans, Pakistanis, Yemenis, Kosovos and any of the dozens of nations current and former administrations have attacked.

    History will not be kind to this country. The government is hypocritical and lies constantly to its’ own people, spies on us, imprisons us as no other nation does, trample on the our supposed rights, kills us “legally” and lets those uniformed enforcers walk. It allows our middle class to be “outsourced” through “trade agreements” destroying the section, the middle class, that helped build the country, allowing “corporations” to have the same rights as people – only more so. It taxes the poor and middle class while allowing huge corporations to find tax loopholes and pay nothing.

    Bah! I shouldn’t have read the above article as it only caused me to feel the anger I usually keep locked away. I apologize for the rant, but not the facts of my rant.

    Like

    • I agree: over the past few years I’ve done a 180 from Shining City on the Hill to Evil Empire. I used to give the American people a pass (maybe because I wanted the benefit of the doubt for myself for my past ignorance), but no longer. The info available is so overwhelming, and so much has occurred, that I believe only the stupid, malicious, or willingly ignorant, don’t realize that America IS the Evil Empire, or at least the armed tool of the elites who are working to achieve a New World Order while destroying as much as possible en route to their fiendish goal.

      Like

    • Blues,

      Yes, the the ‘enemy’ of HUMAN KIND has infiltrated our Nation(s) long ago, and has been working to destroy us and our reputation, and have turned the world against us. This enemy has many weapons they use against us, and one of the most insidious one is the FALSE and filthy lie that our Military are fighting to keep us ‘free’. It is so sickening to here a veteran or anyone say those things! ALL wars have benefited the “JEW” bankers, and in most wars it is the white Nations fighting other white Nations, or fighting against Communist Nations that are/were created by those same “JEW” demon seed Vipers and Serpents.

      The SPIRIT of the N.W.O. goes back to NIMROD and those of his father CAIN/CANAAN! EDOM killed Nimrod and usurped Nimrods One World Rule, And Edom married into the seed of Cain/CANAAN, and are the creators of the Babylonian Talmud, the VATICAN, ISLAM, the ILLUMINATI, COMMUNISM, The PROTOCOLS of the Learned ELDERS of ZION (EDOM) and Zionism! The Protocols of Zion Magnifies the Babylonian Talmud. In short, they are a declaration War and Genocide on WE the Goyim.

      In addition to that, we have these (by definition) “SYNAGOGUES”.

      The Counsel On Foreign Relations, The Trilateral Commission, The Federal Reserve, The Builderberg Group and many others.
      We also find they created many Subversive Organization with the help of the Anti Defamation League. The National Organization Of Women, The N.A.A.C.P., Planned Parenthood etc. With the T.S.A. and D.H.S. and Gun Control being more of their subversion.

      When you have put all of this together in these articles, this is the only thing that makes sense. Goggle these articles….
      “Why don’t these scriptures fit the so called “Gods Chosen”?
      “EDOM: The Story Of Jacob And Esau Is Not Just A Story”
      “The SYNAGOGUE Of SATAN: EDOMS PLAYGROUND”
      “GENOCIDE, INFESTATION, INFILTRATION: The Beginning”

      HERE are who MOST JEWS™ really are
      “EDOM: The Story Of Jacob And Esau Is Not Just A Story”
      http://www.edomsthorn.wordpress.com

      Like

    • I understand your rant, and I agree with it. I too was in Vietnam, but did kill people. They were going to kill me,but I was just “lucky”. I’m haunted by this everyday and night.

      Like

  3. Hi
    I can relate to this article because during world war 2 our suburb was bombed to smithereens
    by 36 Lancaster 4 engine aircraft ostensibly to destroy the railway workshop.
    Our neighbor was cut in half and his wife lost a leg while they were talking to my mother
    standing next to them. Some 857 civilians were killed mostly by the phosphor tubes dropped
    in large quantities making it impossible to extinguish the fires.
    That night we listened to radio Orange from London that stated that the railway workshops
    were successfully destroyed. Not even one window was cracked plus there never was another raid
    on that place during the whole war. So why the attack? exercise only?
    This was in Haarlem in the Netherlands supposedly allies.
    I consider air warfare the most inhumane form of fighting and the pilots know full well what is happening.
    As a 14 year old I was walking with a bike without tires along a country road with three bags of potatoes
    when a spitfire came along. I saw the pilot and no doubt he knew who he was shooting at but he passed, then turned around and strafed me with his machine guns. I escaped because the moment he turned around I was aware what was coming and
    dived into a manhole dug especially everywhere for civilians to try and escape death.
    Civilians everywhere know that the war machine produces killers without conscience and those that do have
    a conscience are those that suffer for the rest of their lives about the immoral actions they are ordered to commit.
    I can tell some other horror stories about war but leave it at that.

    Ren Berghuis

    Like

    • Ren, for what little it’s worth, some of us Americans are aware of our gov’t’s history of war crimes—such as you described—and are deeply ashamed. American GIs raped many French & German women during the war, and the American gov’t implemented postwar policies that were intended to punish Germany: these included starvation & death by freezing! The death total from this wanton postwar slaughter of Germans amounted to perhaps millions. The evil Roosevelt cooperated with his buddy, “Uncle” Joe Stalin, in this endeavor, and Roosevelt & Eisenhower also forcibly returned a huge number of Soviet POWs to Stalin, who saw to it that most were executed or worked to death in the gulags. I’m sorry for the suffering unleashed upon you & yours. Even now, the evil American regime is trying to foment a war with Russia, and I hope you Europeans will see the light and resist cooperating in provocative moves that could lead to a nuclear war!

      Like

  4. My uncle Arnold Bell, just 9 years older than me and more like an older brother than an uncle, flew a light, single-engined spotter plane for the Air Force during his tour in Vietnam. He had to fly close enough to the ground to see the people he was calling in air strikes upon. The plane’s only armor was a manhole cover he put under the seat to protect against small arms fire. During the Tet Offensive in January of 1968 when he was there, the Viet Cong took over large parts of the densely populated Cholon or Chinese section of Saigon. Our response was to call in air strikes on Cholon to kill the occupiers. Later, Arnold defended the actions to me saying that it would have been too costly of American lives to drive the Viet Cong out with our infantry. He was a hawk on the war through and through, but I could tell that he was greatly troubled from his experience. He was also a lifelong Republican from a Republican family, but his last political act as he was dying of cancer in 2004 was to vote against George W. Bush in his reelection bid because of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq that Bush had started. Arnold had seen the horrors of war and knew how evil it was to initiate not one but two of them based on the flimsiest of trumped-up excuses.

    Like

    • On the bright side, consider the high body count that was probably claimed. Westmoreland claimed many tens of thousands of “enemy” KIA after the Tet Offensive had run its course, and a goodly percentage of that number was probably civilians killed by air in the Cholon area. 2.5 to 3 million Vietnamese (on both sides) were killed, and many of those were civilian “collateral damage”. Hey, many of them were wearing “black pajamas” and/or running away when attacked from the air, so they MIGHT have been VC.

      Like

  5. What scares me about the ordinary soldier is how willing he is to follow orders even when his conscience knows with knowledge that borders on certainty that he is committing murder. I was shocked to learn what pilots did in Germany during WWII to civilian cities, and what American soldiers did in France (raped many women). Not a prick of conscience have I ever seen in any Veterans group. You wonder how many men with pins in their lapel and flags waving did these dastardly deeds. I stopped donating to Veterans Groups long ago. And yet those men fighting in those past wars were a “cut above” what we see in the military today. What we see in our military, police and security agencies today is more of a “criminal type”, like Chris Kyle, a movie star and “hero”, who we are told joined the military because of the WTC (but who actually joined earlier) and who regales us privately with stories of his shooting Americans on rooftops in New Orleans working for Blackwater. That creep was shooting at people with a telescopic lens, so he saw not only the people, but the expressions on their faces. Creepy is not the word for it. You wonder how they are presently being conditioned to shoot Americans. Some vets point out that the question is sometimes asked of them in regard to their “willingness” to do so. How many say “yes”, you wonder.

    Like

    • Glad to see another person not caught up in the revolting Chris Kyle worship fest! American P-51 pilots wantonly strafed civilians in Dresden & other places, and they didn’t have the lousy excuse of being unable to see their victims, as was cited by Liberator & Flying Fortress crewmen. But the U.S. military itself used American service personnel & civilians as lab rats in many ways, especially the nuclear testing from the late ’40s to early ’60s. As we know, GIs were brainwashed from basic training on to consider the enemy as subhuman—especially Asians (Japanese & Vietnamese). The overlying theme is one of disrespect for life in general: look at the mass killing of farm animals & exotic types in Nam, and widespread use of Agent Orange to defoliate the forests. I’m scared to death to think about what today’s military personnel will do to their fellow citizens if/when the order comes. I think today’s militarized police are giving us a foreboding preview of what’s coming our way.

      Like

  6. There is no medal given for being human. Men at war who are human are few. Cotton and his wing man certainly earned my respect. I think they did right, especially since it was a possible court martial offense and career ending. Even though the village was later destroyed with all killed, an act of humanity did occur, and that does count.

    Like

  7. The biggest atrocity of the war in Vietnam was the war itself. Over a million Vietnamese were murdered for absolutely no reason at all. Well, there were vast corporate profits, but like I said, that’s absolutely no reason at all to murder a million people.

    Like

    • All wars of aggression are atrocities & war crimes. The Nnuremberg Convention specifies that a war of aggression is the most egregious war crime. Up to three million Vietnamese died in the American War, and God knows how many more were maimed and born with birth defects as a result of Agent Orange and all the other stuff. Don’t forget LBJ’s ego, which played a huge part in keeping the madness going for years after more sane men realized it was just a slaughter fest.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Largest Known U.S. Vietnam War Atrocity But Ignored by U.S. News Media | THE INTERNET POST
  9. Pingback: Web Research Links for the week of 5/4/15: «
  10. Whats new ? American troops always behaved like this – I saw it all trough WW2. Civilians, women, children, old people are always fair game, never mind any prisoners. I remember having to paint over Red Crosses on ambulances and buildings (Hospitals & First Aid Stations) because they became too good targets.
    The USA never conducted any war according to Geneva Conventions but expected their enemy/victim to do so.

    Like

    • I didn’t know it was that common. Until I read “The Bad War” by Mike King, I assumed American units were fairly well-behaved during WW2. It turns out that our side wasn’t so righteous after all.

      Like

        • When aj put up a link to this documentary earlier I had already watched about 30 Min of it and wasn’t sure if I wanted to continue. After all, the ‘Amis’ were always portrayed as the good guys. Finally, I decided to override my stomach and did it.

          You would think atrocities happen during war time on all sides, but murdering upwards of a Mio people, give or take, after a war through neglect and starvation, that is something else. I never knew about this and almost wish I didn’t know now. But for heaven’s sakes, how can one man, Eisenhauer (intentional) build up so much hatred and callousness to instruct his soldiers to keep on keeping on murdering so many people after the war ended.

          And then there was ‘Operation Vittles’, which, if they had listened to George Patton wouldn’t have been necessary. Patton wanted to keep the Russians at bay East of Berlin. He was killed for that. Anyways, Berlin was divided into four zones, Russian, American, British and French, isolated from West Germany in the Russian sector, later East Germany, and the Russians decided to blockade all roads and trains from the West so no supplies were reaching Berlin with a population of 2.5 Mio.

          Now, my guess is it was for political purposes, but USA and UK started an air lift into Berlin with planes starting or landing every 45 seconds for a while to bring in tons of food and necessities for over a year 1948-1949 until the Russians gave up.

          But does this ‘Candy Bomber’ make up for what went on before ?

          Sorry, dcdave, I don’t know very much about the Vietnam War.

          Like

  11. Bringing the story of the destroyed village up to date, I should have written that the writer of “An Unacceptable Target,” Mary Lewis Deans WAS a Nash County, NC, writer. With a Net search I just found out that she died in 2007. She had divorced William Ronald Deans and remarried. In her obituary she is “Mary Lewis Griffin Foote.”
    http://www.nashvillegraphic.com/news.php?viewStory=1912
    She was quite a remarkable person.

    Like

  12. Reblogged this on Mothman777's Blog and commented:

    This is very distressing, all such people giving genocidal orders against innocent people like that should surely have been tried and executed, and that should apply even to those cold-blooded murderers who still live today who gave the orders for such killings. Of course, it was all just another bloodfest for the yahoos to annihilate as many Gentiles as possible, dressed up in any fashion they like to appear something entirely different.

    Like

  13. During my time as soldier all the way from Zhitomir Russia across Europe to Zwolle, Holland I have seen many prison camps and the very worst I saw were the Allied POW camps I was in. For many years I had nightmares, never from what we had done – no what was done to me and my comrades.
    Of course as a 19 year old SS Dispatch rider I had to be a Nazi and War Criminal and my parents in Dresden I never heard from again as well my killed brothers wife’s family who lived in what’s now Poland disappeared from the face of this earth.
    Also I am very sure what was happening in prison and concentration camps towards the end of the war was a direct consequence of the terror bombing going on affecting all supply and transport systems for the last 5 month or so of the war. How could any prison camp even exist from day to day ? No food, no medical supply’s, no hygienic supply’s and constant fuel, power, water stoppages combined with overcrowding from some of the Eastern prison camps.
    All problems the Allies never had, in the Western Allied prison camps prisoners died due to lack of medical attention, malnutrition, no hygienic supplies and general mistreatment. I was there and experienced it and saw my comrades die. The few historians who dare estimate more then one million prisoners died.
    Just read the books by Dr. Nick Kollerstrom, Dr Stuart Jeanne Bramhall, James Bacque, David Irving but don’t expect them in the “Best Sellers List also just a reminder:
    The International Red Cross representatives right up to Germany’s surrender always had access to POW camps and Concentration camps. In my 4 years as a POW (after the war) I have never seen a Red Cross Representative or received a Red Cross Parcel.
    I am a old man now and listen to some of my neighbours (the heroic generation) telling us how one helped to destroy Dresden’s war industry on the night of February 1945 and another one how he and his comrades always shot Waffen SS soldiers. Fortunately my memories are such as remembering defending my Fatherland and doing so honorably as did most of my comrades.

    Like

    • The bombing of Dresden was one of the worst atrocities in history, & totally unnecessary to win or end the war. As an American not yet born at that time, I’m deeply ashamed of that, & Hamburg, & Hiroshima, & Nagasaki. I didn’t know Allied POW camps were the worst. And after reading M.S. King’s books (see http://www.tomatobubble.com), I realize that Hitler wasn’t the monster Western propaganda has portrayed him. You referred to Dresden’s “war industry”—my understanding is that the city didn’t have much in the way of war-related stuff.

      Like

      • No heavy Industry whatever but remember also that air raid was just a little more then 2 month before wars end. What difference would it have made ? At that time Dresden was considered a hospital town, apart from the usual hospitals of a town for 640,000 inhabitants every school was turned into a hospital.
        With the Russians only about 50 miles away I think Churchill just intended to show Stalin what the Western Allies could do.

        Like

  14. Pingback: Largest Known U.S. Vietnam War Atrocity But Ignored by U.S. News Media | RIELPOLITIK
  15. I hope you will forgive me posting the following. Some of your readers or even yourself might be interested in reading the items.
    1: From Major Jordan’s Diaries…..http://www.sweetliberty.org/issues/wars/jordan/15.html
    2:Martin Bormann — Nazi in Exile…..http://spitfirelist.com/books/martin-bormann-nazi-in-exile/… the story about how this book managed to be published is a story within itself.
    3: THE NAMELESS WAR…..http://www.biblebelievers.org.au/nameindx.htm..
    4: War Is A Racket …http://www.ratical.org/ratville/CAH/warisaracket.html

    Like

  16. Pingback: The Vietnam War – thewarthatneverturnedhot

You Got Something To Say? Please keep your maw respectful and gab on topic.

