Brother Cane

brother_cane-e1401419154491

Back in the 90’s I was still going to a lot of concerts. I had seen all the southern rock bands multiple times, but then this obscure band out of Birmingham, AL hit the scene and blew me away. I was living in Huntsville, AL and saw them early on in smaller venues, but before you knew it they were opening for Big Bands like Van Halen, Aerosmith, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Robert Plant and Ted Nugent (and others).

This is their first album and to this day stands as one of my favorite southern rock albums of all time. They produced three in total (and the others are as good).

 

I seriously doubt you could listen to this album without tapping your feet and bobbing your head like the old days…

Sure, you can rock out to the first song, “Got No Shame” (which really is a killer song… perhaps my favorite on the album… and I dare you to NOT play the air cow bell… I DARE YOU), but also notice that their arrangements have depth that many southern rock bands fail to achieve. They have some good harmonies, like in “Hard Act To Follow”. Listen to “Woman” and dig the musical transition halfway through (man, if that doesn’t get you jamming, nothing will). Don’t skimp out and miss “Make Your Play”.

Damn, I love a touch of harmonica in rock and roll music.

Damon Johnson has a great voice and can jam on the guitar (since the band disbanded, he has played with Alice Cooper and he now plays with Thin Lizzy).

Enjoy!

Brother Cane Full Self-Titled Album
Released: 1993
Label: Virgin Records

Track Listing

01. Got No Shame 00:00
02. Hard Act To Follow 04:34
03. How Long 09:09
04. Don’t Turn Your Back On Me 14:05
05. Woman 18:59
06. Pressure 24:31
07. The Last Time 28:58
08. The Road 34:40
09. That Don’t Satisfy Me 39:21
10. A Stone’s Throw Away 44:04
11. Make Your Play 48:42

Follow @BuelahMan

BuelaHuh?

Did I rub you the wrong way or stroke you just right? Let me know below in the comments section or Email me at buelahman {AT} g m a i l {DOT} com

The blog owner does not necessarily agree with the information published or with the original authors’ ideology, but supplies this information to foster comment, reporting, teaching and study. If for some reason you actually liked this post, click the “Like” button below. If you feel like someone else needs to see this (or you just want to ruin someone’s day), click the Share Button at the bottom of the post and heap this upon some undeserving soul. And as sad as this thought may be, it may be remotely possible that us rednecks here at The Revolt please you enough (or more than likely, you are just a glutton for punishment??), that you feel an overwhelming desire to subscribe via the Email subscription and/or RSS Feed buttons found on the right hand panel of this page (may the Lord have mercy on your soul).

Comment Policy:

Please keep comments relevant to the topic. Multiple links will automatically relegate your comment to the spam section, so keep that in mind as you post. 1st time commenters must receive Admin approval, but have free reign after that.

All posts are opinions meant to foster comment, reporting, teaching & study under the “fair use doctrine” in Sec. 107 of U.S. Code Title 17. No statement of fact is made or should be implied. Ads appearing on this blog are solely the product of the advertiser and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of BuehlahMan’s Revolt or WordPress.com

7 thoughts on “Brother Cane

  1. This one mirrors us today:

    And Fools Shine On
    Brother Cane

    Come and see me
    Can’t you see me?
    It’s so easy
    To believe in you
    I believed in you

    Your attention, my addiction
    Fear no evil
    You’ll be safe in here
    I was saved in here
    And fools shine on
    When fools shine on

    Want tomorrow
    No tomorrow
    Come together
    For the here and now
    And we need it now

    Walk the narrow
    Straight and narrow
    Look behind me
    There’s a light out there
    In your light I stare
    And fools shine on
    When fools shine on
    And fools shine on

    Where your eyes won’t
    Open, fade or divide
    Peace from your darkest hours
    Bathe in your light, yeah, yeah
    Come and see me
    Can’t you see me?
    Come and see me
    You’ll be saved in here
    And fools shine on
    When fools shine on, yeah
    And fools shine on
    When fools shine on…

    Like

  2. Thank you for the Thanksgiving weekend treat of “Brother Cane”, B’man.

    I got to see Lynyrd Skynyrd open for ZZ Top at the (then) Arco Arena in Sacramento years ago. The Confederate battle flag tempest-in-teapot (though great war for hearts and minds of dumbed-down amerikuns, probably won by the Adversary) brought to my attention Lynyrd Skynyrd of the truer past as opposed to those who carry on in their name. Most recently, I once again saw ZZ Top (third time live!) hold forth in Lincoln, CA, near Sacramento, with an opening band called Blackberry something.

    I have to agree with your assessment, Brother Cane’s initial album a great work! I look forward to listening to their two others!

    Reminds me of a time, long ago, my doing light shows for rock bands (and for Luther Allison, when once he came to town), a group of fellows calling themselves Sacred Mushroom, who also played at the college where I studied [TWICE!], opened for Janis Joplin and the Holding Company in Cincinnati.
    http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/big-brother-and-the-holding-company/1968/cincinnati-music-hall-cincinnati-oh-1bc26184.html
    One of the last concerts given by the headliners (they headed on east as I recall), and the last time I got to listen to Sacred Musroom, a great band in their own right!

    Ain’t good history wonderful!

    Alan

    Like

  3. The Allman Brothers and The Black Crowes are my favorites and of course the primo Lynyrd Skynyrd lineup before the plane crash. Don’t forget ZZ Top, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Fabulous Thunderbirds but those are not really “southern” rock.

    Like

You Got Something To Say? Please keep your maw respectful and gab on topic.

